Mississippi State Honoring Seniors Against Arkansas

One of the winningest senior classes in the 117-year history of Mississippi State football will be honored in pregame ceremonies as the Bulldogs host Arkansas in the 2016 home finale at 6 p.m. CT Saturday in Davis Wade Stadium. For complete details, visit HailState.com/gameday.

State (4-6, 2-4 SEC) is seeking to become bowl eligible for a school-record seventh straight season with victories in its final two games. The Razorbacks are at 6-4 overall and 2-4 in league play following a 38-10 loss to LSU last Saturday in Fayetteville.

Senior Class
The group of 19 seniors is one of eight senior classes in MSU history to record 30 victories and is currently the sixth-winningest senior class with a 30-19 mark. They have shattered 25 single-game, single-season and career statistical records in the past four years. They have produced four victories over Top 10 ranked teams, representing the second-most in the SEC since 2014. The following will be recognized in pregame ceremonies:
DL Nelson Adams – Brandon native who is playing in his 50th career game; 74 career tackles
DL Lawrence Brown – walk-on from Columbus
LB Richie Brown – the SEC active career leader in tackles (279); graduate currently pursuing his MBA
DL Johnathan Calvin – two-year player who leads the squad in sacks this season with five
OL Jamaal Clayborn – the starting center for the past two seasons; making his 23rd career start
DL Will Coleman – pass rusher the last two seasons who has made 18 tackles
S Kivon Coman – leader at safety playing his 47th career game; three career interceptions
DL Torrey Dale – fifth-year senior who has recorded 32 career tackles
OL Devon Desper – graduate and versatile lineman who is starting his 26th career game
RB Brandon Holloway – versatile running back and a team captain who has eight career touchdowns
DL Nick James – fifth-year defensive lineman from Long Beach who has 60 tackles
DL A.J. Jefferson – a team captain who is tied for third in school history in tackles for loss (35)
OL Jocquell Johnson – backup center and contributor on special teams and PAT units
OL Rodney Lacy – walk-on offensive lineman from Birmingham, Ala.
WR Fred Ross – a team captain who owns four school career records and leads the SEC in touchdowns (9)
DL Sean Samuel – walk-on defensive lineman from Snellville, Ga.
OL Justin Senior – Canadian native and graduate who is starting his team-leading 37th game
RB Ashton Shumpert – Fulton native who has rushed for 938 yards in his career and seven touchdowns
LB DeAndre Ward – former walk-on who earned scholarship and has 39 career tackles

Series History
MSU and Arkansas are meeting for the 27th time with the Razorbacks holding a 15-10-1 all-time advantage. This is the 25th straight year the two teams are playing each other. MSU has won four in a row in the series, including a 51-50 shootout in Fayetteville last year. The last three games have been decided in the final seconds with a Bulldog making a memorable play in each of those games.


Allen is a die-hard football fan who has covered the NFL since 2007 and has written for numerous sites online covering football, MMA and pro wrestling. Allen is based out of Nashville and has a sales background as well as a career managing fighters in the UFC, Bellator and Strikeforce.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *