2016 All-SEC Freshman Team Announced

Missouri placed a league-leading four selections on the 2016 Southeastern Conference All-Freshman Football Team, it was announced Thursday. The team was voted on by the league’s 14 head coaches, who were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Including Missouri’s four selections, three SEC institutions placed three or more members on the All-Freshman Team. LSU and Ole Miss were represented with three selections.

Missouri’s Jonathan Johnson earned two selections to the All-Freshman Team. He garnered recognition as both an all-purpose athlete and a return specialist.

Alabama’s Jalen Hurts, an SEC All-Freshman Team honoree at quarterback, was named the SEC’s Offensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year on Wednesday.

2016 SEC All-Freshman Team

TE – Isaac Nauta, Georgia

OL – Jonah Williams, Alabama
Jawaan Taylor, Florida
Greg Little, Ole Miss
Logan Stenberg, Kentucky

C – Erik McCoy, Texas A&M

WR – Dimetrios Mason, Missouri
Van Jefferson, Ole Miss

QB – Jalen Hurts, Alabama

RB – Benny Snell Jr., Kentucky
Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M

AP – Jonathan Johnson, Missouri

DL – Jabari Zuniga, Florida
Marlon Davidson, Auburn
Ed Alexander, LSU
McTelvin Agim, Arkansas*
Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State*

LB – Leo Lewis, Mississippi State
Devin White, LSU
De’Jon Harris, Arkansas

DB – Javaris Davis, Auburn
Nigel Warrior, Tennessee
Ronnell Perkins, Missouri
Jaylon Jones, Ole Miss

Special Teams
PK – Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia

P – Josh Growden, LSU

RS – Jonathan Johnson, Missouri


Allen is a die-hard football fan who has covered the NFL since 2007 and has written for numerous sites online covering football, MMA and pro wrestling. Allen is based out of Nashville and has a sales background as well as a career managing fighters in the UFC, Bellator and Strikeforce.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *